Becoming More American

I originally had some pretty good verse on here, but for some reason the entire 30 minutes it took me to write it, even after saving the draft, has been erased.

I’m going to stew for a while before I muster up the energy to remember what poetry I first typed on here. OK, it wasn’t really poetry, but stay with me…

UPDATE: OK, this will be a different version of what I originally posted (or didn’t post), but you’ll get the gist of it.

I live on the border, about 15 miles or so from the Mexican state of Tamaulipas. I’m of Mexican descent, as are about 90 percent of the population here. So, naturally, when the World Cup comes around most sports fanatics here put on their green jerseys and rooted for El Tri — as in El Tricolor, or three colors of the Mexican flag.

Finding fans of the United States national team wasn’t so apparent. Few would come out publicly and support our American brethren.

While there is still a large backing of the Mexican national team this year, the support for the US team has swelled in deep south Texas and no doubt among many Americans of Mexican descent.

I posted a video  yesterday that shows a beautiful account of what used to be support for the Mexican team, but this group isn’t cheering for Mexico. Most were dressed in either the men’s team’s uniform polos, waved flags or anything that resembled the USA.

The bar in that video Tweeted earlier:

Not as busy as it has been for #USA games; still plenty of tables & seats to see the #MEX game.

It’s a small peak into what I think is changing around what was mostly a Mexican-dominated society. I think it speaks more than just sports. It could be that this culture could be assimilating more not with it’s bloodline, but with its true homeland — the United States of America.

And I think it’s about time.

One thought on “Becoming More American

Leave a Reply

